What is happening in my community?

In some communities groups of stakeholders with an interest in Ultra-Fast Broadband have formed to consider ways of leveraging the benefits of fibre. These include representatives of local businesses, the health and education sectors, local iwi; community organisations like High Tech Youth and Computers in Homes; and members of local ICT clusters. They generally have  the support of the local council and/or economic development agency. In some towns and cities there’s simply a local UFB champion rather than a group in operation. Initiatives to make the most of fibre include:

  • councils working in partnership with fibre providers on a “one dig” policy and other “fibre friendly” activities;
  • councils, Chambers of Commerce, Principals’ Associations, and PHO’s communicating UFB rollout plans to their constituent groups;
  • identification of exemplar users of fibre in the community willing to act as “ambassadors”;
  • development and communication of case studies of fibre in use in different sectors;
  • business mentoring;
  • local schools’ professional development and ICT clusters;
  • community ICT hubs where residents can experience applications and services over fibre,  in libraries and elsewhere;
  • technology expos and/or an experience centre to showcase applications and services over UFB;
  • building digital capability in business sectors of competitive advantage with training in how to capture the value of emerging technologies.

See below for a list of such forums and stakeholders in your area supporting the UFB rollout:

Location Who Organisation Email
Whangarei Mike Preece Northland
Inc
mike@northlandinc.co.nz
Auckland Robert Lundberg Auckland Council robert.lundberg@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
New Plymouth John Haylock Venture Taranaki john@venture.org.nz
Wanganui Marianne Archibald Wanganui
District Council
Marianne.Archibald@wanganui.govt.nz
Tauranga Greg Simmonds Priority One greg@priorityone.co.nz
Whakatane Gerard Casey Eastern Bay of PlentyChamber of Commerce gerard@ebopchamber.co.nz
Gisborne Meng Foon Gisborne District Council mayor@gdc.govt.nz
Palmerston North Leith Haarhoff Palmerston North City Library haarhoffl@pncc.govt.nz
Kapiti Coast Mike Courtney Kapiti Digital Leader Forum connect@ufbkapiti.info
Greater
Wellington
Colin Drew Greater
Wellington
Regional Council
colin.drew@gw.govt.nz
Upper Hutt Chris Upton Upper Hutt City Council chris.upton@uhcc.govt.nz
Nelson Bill Findlater Nelson Regional EDA bill@eda.co.nz
Christchurch Helen Shorthouse Canterbury Development Corporation helen.shorthouse@cdc.org.nz
Dunedin Stuart Dillon-Roberts Digital Office hello@digitaloffice.co.nz

If there’s not a Digital Leadership Forum in your area and you would like to establish one, please contact Crown Fibre Holdings.

Be Sociable, Share!